AMC’s New Grand Chief Elected

Manitoba’s First Nations Chiefs have elected a new leader today that will follow former Grand Chief Derek Nepinak. The Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs (AMC) have elected Arlen Dumas — Member of Mathias Colomb Cree Nation. The election took place on the Nisichawayasihk Cree Nation (Nelson House) in northern Manitoba during AMC’s annual general assembly.
Arlen Dumas was elected after the first ballot with 33 out of 54 possible votes.
The four other candidates who were vying for the AMC Grand Chief position were:
Craig Blacksmith — Member of Dakota Plains Wahpeton Oyate.
David Kobliski — Member of Nisichawayasihk Cree Nation.
Sharon Mason — Member of Wasagamack First Nation
Garry McLean — Member of Lake Manitoba Treaty 2 First Nation
Derek Nepinak was first elected as grand chief in 2011, he announced last November that he would not seek another term.
In a Facebook post last November, he wrote that he will continue to live his life in the service of Indigenous people.
NCI wishes Arlen Dumas all the best in his new role as AMC Grand Chief.

arlen Dumas
* Doug Thomas photo used with permission

This entry was posted in Community Connection, NCI News. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.