First Nations School System Agreement

On December 16th eight first nations and the federal government signed an agreement to create a first nations school board composed of indigenous community leaders, that would start in the 2017- 2018 school year. The board will manage elementary and secondary level programs acting on First Nations, a First Nations school system with funding appropriate for the learning that these students need, says AMC Grand Chief Derek Nepinak in a press release.”Today we are celebrating a milestone for Manitoba First Nations children by revitalizing our culture, languages and traditions within schools on-reserve.”

This program was created to ensure that Native American students get a chance to learn about their culture and enhanced learning programs. “We are honoured to accept responsibility for education from the First Nations that are signing this historical agreement, the future looks bright for our children and youth with the increased funding that will allow for culturally relevant and high-quality academic programming.”said MFNERC executive director Lorne Keeper in the same press release.

The First nations who signed on to this agreement are Bloodvein First Nation, Brokenhead Ojibway Nation, Dakota Plains Wahpeton First Nation, Keeseekoowenin Ojibway Nations, Lake Manitoba First Nation, Pinaymootang First Nation, Roseau River Anishnabe First Nation and Fx Lake Cree Nation.

For more information see Thompson Citizen’s article here.


Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs Grand Chief Derek Nepinak, Manitoba Keewatinowi Okimakanak Grand Chief Sheila North Wilson and federal Indigenous and Northern Affairs Minister Carolyn Bennett were among those in attendance Dec. 16 at the signing of an agreement to create a new Manitoba First Nations school system that will serve eight First Nations in the province. Photograph By MFNERC

This entry was posted in Community Connection, NCI News. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.